Divorces are often emotionally-taxing and extremely painful, but when there is no way to salvage a marriage, this is the best way forward for both people involved. If you wish to file for divorce in Kenosha, you must be a resident of Wisconsin for at least six months. You should also be a resident of the county for 30 days prior to filing. While you can proceed with an uncontested divorce independently, you should consider seeking legal counsel from an expert. Kenosha divorce lawyers can guide you about the steps and how you can keep things simple to get through the process sooner. In this post, we are taking a look at uncontested divorces in Wisconsin.
Grounds for divorce in Wisconsin
In Wisconsin, you don’t have to accuse your spouse of adultery or other grounds like cruelty and abandonment to get a divorce. Instead, you need to state that your marriage is irretrievably broken and cannot be saved. Even one spouse can decide to get a divorce, and the court will consider the petition. Sometimes, it is enough to just prove that the couple has been living apart for more than a year maru gujarat.
The basics of uncontested divorces
You need to understand that an uncontested divorce is only possible when you and your spouse can agree to the critical aspects of the process. Together, you must decide on alimony, if any, which is also called maintenance in the state, and how marital property and debts will be divided. You will also need to decide about minor children, such as child custody, parenting schedules, visitation rights, and child support. You can file a settlement agreement in court based on what you decide with your spouse. A divorce petition can be filed jointly in Wisconsin. If you and your spouse have issues that need remediation, you can contact an attorney who will get a neutral mediator in between to start the mediation process.
Get an attorney
An uncontested divorce is the easiest and fastest way to get a divorce in Wisconsin. Get an attorney so that you don’t have to deal with the legal process alone, and they can ensure that all documents, financial statements, and other requirements are completed as per the county laws. While there is a mandatory waiting period of 120 days, a divorce lawyer can help you get an uncontested divorce sooner. You can expect lawyers to charge a flat fee or an hourly rate tv bucetas.